# A WWW

# EUROPEAN ASSOCIATION FOR EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING

Central Office: Boğaziçi University, Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research

Institute, Çengelköy, Istanbul, 34684 Turkey

Telephone: 90-216 332 5530
Fax: 90-216 462 1932
E-mail: ansal @ boun.edu.tr
Home Page: http://www.eaee.org

President: Martin Koller (Switzerland) e-mail: martin.koller@resonance.ch

Vice-Presidents: Robin Spence (UK) e-mail: robin@carltd.com

Mihail Garevski (Republic of Macedonia) e-mail: garevski@pluto.iziis.ukim.edu.mk

Secretary-General: Atilla Ansal (Turkey)

Treasurer: Rainer Flesch (Austria) e-mail: Rainer.Flesch@arsenal.ac.at

Executive Committee: Mauro Dolce (Italy), Jakob Eisenberg (Russia), Peter Fajfar (Slovenia), Andreas J Kappos (Greece),

Carlos S. Oliveira (Portugal)

Honorary Members: N.Ambraseys (UK), D.Anicic (Croatia), G.Grandori (Italy), A.A.Moinfar (Iran)

Audit Committee: Philippe Bisch (France), Panayotis Carydis (Greece)

# Guidelines for Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award

# Adopted in September 2008

#### Article 1.

The Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award is granted by the European Association for Earthquake Engineering to distinguished European researchers in the field of Earthquake Engineering residing in one of the member countries.

# Article 2.

The motivations for the Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award are;

- (a) To honour Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys, a pioneer in Earthquake Engineering in Europe.
- (b) To award European leading researchers in the field of earthquake engineering,
- (c) To recognize and encourage outstanding contributions in the field of earthquake engineering in Europe,
- (d) To promote European Association for Earthquake Engineering,

# Article 3.

The Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award is granted with two year intervals on the occasion of the European Conference on Earthquake Engineering every four years and in between during the General Assembly of European Seismological Commission as one of the keynote lectures in the Earthquake Engineering block. The award recipient will be granted a Commemorative EAEE Plaque.

#### Article 4.

The Awards Committee composed of five members is elected by the Executive Committee two years in advance of the presentation of the award lecture. Members of the Awards Committee can not be nominee for the Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award.

### Article 5.

The call for nominations should be announced via EAEE Newsletter and EAEE web pages two years in advance from the organisation of the upcoming European Conference on Earthquake Engineering or General Assembly of European Seismological Council. Nominations can be submitted by all EAEE Individual Members, Delegates of National and Organisational Members as well as members of EAEE National Societies.

#### Article 6.

All nominations shall be submitted in written format to the Chairman of the Awards Committee until the end of March one year prior to the presentation of the award lecture. Nominees shall remain confidential pending formal selection of the award. Awards Committee may also nominate candidates for the Lecture Award.

#### Article 7.

Candidates for the Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture Award shall be reviewed and selected by the Awards Committee at the end of June one year prior to the presentation of the award lecture. Conflict of interest and bias in the selection of awardees shall be avoided with the utmost care.

#### Article 8.

The recipients shall prepare an address on the agreed topic for the presentation as the Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture at the upcoming European Conference on Earthquake Engineering or at the General Assembly of European Seismological Council.

#### Article 9.

The manuscript drafted for the Prof. Nicholas Ambraseys Distinguished Lecture prepared by the recipient shall be published in the first available issue of the Bulletin of Earthquake Engineering.